Announcing the Young Scholars' Award

Attention SPS Student Members! The SPS Young Scholars' Award provides scholarship funds to the winner of each year's "Best Student Research Paper." The award winner must qualify according to the instructions below. The winner will be noted in the SPS program, inviting all members to hear the student's presentation of the award-winning paper, and introduced at the annual meeting banquet.

Funds awarded will be based on current funds available in the Young Scholars SPS account. Registrants attending each year's annual meeting have opportunity to give to the Young Scholars' Fund and can also make donations throughout the year.

Student Qualifications:	SPS Leadership Actions:	Timeline:
Be enrolled as a full-time graduate student (Master's level, not Ph.D.)		
Submit a proposal corresponding with the subject of one of the SPS Interest Groups to (not more than one) SPS Interest Group leader (see SPS-USA.org).		By June 30
	IGL will send student notice of proposal acceptance.	By July 31
Register for SPS 2023 and renew SPS membership.		By November 1
Submit final paper to IGL in approved format		By January 15
	Chair of SPS Membership Committee, Peter Alt- house, will notify award winner.	By February 1
Attend annual conference (including banquet), present paper, and submit travel receipts to SPS Secretary/Treasurer.		March 19-21

Previous Young Scholars' Award Winners

- **2014** Brandon Hubbard-Heitz, Wake Forest University, "The Devil Can Go and Commit Suicide": Explorations and Implications of the Early Pentecostals' Hermeneutic of Space"
 - Anthony Roberts, Southeastern University, "A Cautious Hermeneutical Relationship: The Influence of Ludwig Feuerbach's Philosophical Framework within James H. Cone's God of the Oppressed"
- **2015** William Kyle Clukey, Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary, "A Kenotic Ethic of Peacebuilding and Reconciliation"
- **2016** Alex R. Mayfield, Boston College, "Seal of the Spirit: The Sacrament of Confirmation and Pentecostal Spirit Baptism."
- **2017** Elizabeth Krueger, Lee University, "Refusing to Perpetuate Otherness: Hospitality as the Ecclesial Response and Prevention of Sex Trafficking."
- **2018** Dara Coleby Delgado, University of Dayton, "The Practicality of Holiness: A Historical Examination of Class, Race, and Gender within Black Holiness Pentecostalism, Bishop Ida Bell Robinson, and the Mount Sinai Holy Church of America."
- 2019 Skylar D. McManus, Regent University, "Parsing Pentecostal Oneness Christology."
- 2020 No conference.
- **2021** Daniel Topf, Fuller Theological Seminary, "Addressing the Economic Dimension of Global Violence Against Women: Threats and Opportunities in the Age of the Fourth Industrial Revolution."
- 2022 No recipient.
- 2023 -
- **2024** Harold A. Gutierrez, Summit Pacific College, From Exiles to Envoys: Pentecostal Reimagination of the Exile Ideology